31 Northern California Wildlife Areas That Allow Hunting

Northern California Wildlife Areas for California hunting seasons.

On this page, you’ll find 31 Northern California Wildlife Areas and units that allow hunting but only for “authorized species.” For each one, we specify its county and designation as a Type AType B, and Type C area. Finally, we provide a list of counties in Norther California, which is Region 1 of the Department of Fish and Wildlife. Click here for other Regions.

Northern California Wildlife Areas

This Section includes a list of 31 Northern California Wildlife Areas that allow hunting, as well as links to our hunter-friendly pages for each location. There, you’ll find practically everything you need for hunting, including what, when, where, and how you can hunt there. In addition to direct links to supporting laws, we include general hunting regulations for each species. We also provide area contact info, driving directions, custom maps, and local rules for using bikes, boats, campers, firearms, lotteries, permits, reservations, and much more!!

Northern California Wildlife Areas, including the Pine Creek Wildlife Area
Northern California Wildlife Areas
    1. Antelope Valley Wildlife Area
    2. Ash Creek Wildlife Area
    3. Bass Hill Wildlife Area
    4. Big Lagoon Wildlife Area
    5. Biscar Wildlife Area
    6. Butte Valley Wildlife Area
    7. Cantara/Ney Springs Wildlife Area
    8. Cinder Flats Wildlife Area
    9. Dales Lake Ecological Reserve
    10. Doyle Wildlife Area
    11. Dutch Flat Wildlife Area
    12. Eel River Wildlife Area
    13. Elk River Wildlife Area
    14. Fay Slough Wildlife Area
    15. Fitzhugh Creek Wildlife Area
    16. Grass Lake Wildlife Area
    17. Honey Lake Wildlife Area
    18. Horseshoe Ranch Wildlife Area
    19. Lake Earl Wildlife Area
    20. Mad River Slough Wildlife Area
    21. Merrill’s Landing Wildlife Area
    22. Mouth of Cottonwood Creek Wildlife Area
    23. Pine Creek Wildlife Area
    24. Shasta Valley Wildlife Area
    25. Sheepy Ridge Wildlife Area
    26. Silver Creek Wildlife Area
    27. South Spit Wildlife Area / State Management Area
    28. Surprise Valley Wildlife Area
    29. Tehama Wildlife Area
    30. Waukell Creek Wildlife Area
    31. Willow Creek Wildlife Area

Counties in CDFW Region 1, Northern California Wildlife Areas

Northern California Wildlife Areas are in Region 1 of the Department of Fish and Game, and include the following counties:

Northern California Wildlife Areas for California hunting seasons.
CDFW Region 1, Northern California Counties
    1. Del Norte County
    2. Humboldt County
    3. Lassen County
    4. Mendocino County
    5. Modoc County
    6. Shasta County
    7. Siskiyou County
    8. Tehama County
    9. Trinity County

HELP!! While we do our best to include all Northern California Wildlife Areas, we might miss some or make a typo. If so, please leave a reply in the comment box below.

Leave a Reply